A Blog By Any Other Name

Until the Garden & Gun article comes out in a few months, I’m going to refrain from publishing anything that’s too closely related to that content. I haven’t seen the final edit so I don’t want to give anything away that might appear later in the magazine. Fortunately, there are so many other southern-y goings-on in New York right now, it’s easy to find grist for the blog mill. But first, a word on this blog’s name, just so we’re all on the same page.
A year or so ago, a few friends and I were sitting at the upstairs bar at Bar Martignetti on Broome and Centre (before it became Brinkley’s or renamed Bella’s Southside), talking to our Australian friend Morgan, who was behind the bar. We had lived in Nolita for a few years or so at that point and I was complaining about how unfairly attractive all of the Australians are who frequent the neighborhood. To which Morgan replied (to cheer me up I guess?????), “We’re all Australian on the inside.” The backhanded compliment has stuck with me ever since, so in the face of New York’s newfound admiration of southerners and our culture, I thought it only fitting to offer a similarly encouraging sentiment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Background

Leave a Reply

