Prom Time People-Watching

jessica mischner, southern on the inside, prom dresses

During my trip to South Carolina this weekend, I had the unexpected pleasure of being front row to an impromptu pre-prom fashion show on Saturday. The sun was shining, the sky was blue and a few friends and I were enjoying a late afternoon cocktail in a cafe at a local park when, to my amazement, bedazzled high schoolers and their parents began arriving. Thank GOODNESS I had my camera with me, as it would have been criminal to let this event go undocumented. Some trends I noticed: tuxedo color-blocking (black shirts with bright ties and vests), expertly matched guy-girl outfits, super-tall shoes and prints galore. Entourages seemed to be the preferred accessory. Just watching them all made my high-school self feel severely conservative and underdressed in retrospect.

1 Comment

Filed under I'm just sayin', South Carolina, Style

One response to “Prom Time People-Watching

  1. Susan

    Wow! Times have changed, however I guess I am old school, because I love the simple elegent gowns that you did wear in high school. Just a little too much for me!

Leave a Reply

