Derby Days

This weekend’s a big one here in New York City. Lots of Southerners will be donning Lilly-or-louder dresses and ties, freshly laundered seersucker suits, and royal wedding–worthy hats to celebrate the annual running of the ponies at Churchill Downs. In Manhattan, folks will be gathering at Eleven Madison Park, Smack Mellon, and all of the other great locations throughout the five boroughs that serve heavily-liquored-sweating-cold mint juleps.

But we’re not the only ones. In fact, I won’t even be in the city this weekend. I’ll be down in South Carolina celebrating the lovely ladies in my family, and watching the Derby with some hometown friends. Where will you be gathering this Saturday? Please tell me how you celebrate the Kentucky Derby in style. And send pictures! I’ll be posting a gallery of the best shots on my Garden & Gun blog, Southern in the City, next week. Email me at ggsoutherninthecity@gmail.com.

1 Comment

Filed under Culture, Events, Southern Folk, Southern in the City, Style

One response to “Derby Days

  1. Jen

    We were actually at the Derby on Saturday, true Kentuckians that we are! This was my husband’s 32nd Derby; I’m slowly catching up, I believe this was my 12th. Great fun had be all!

Leave a Reply

